Why writing your Representative and Senator can make a difference for Makset

1

September 27, 2012 by stgilbertinkz

LIke many of you, when I hear people urging me to write my Congressperson over an issue, the first thing that comes to mind is, “Yeah, right, as if they’re going to listen.”  And, to be honest, I’m sure that certain members of Congress will place less importance on an issue of a evangelical pastor from an obscure part of the world being incarcerated as below other priorities, especially in this election year.  However, as I’ve walked through this season of advocacy for Makset, I have learned from more than one source in government circles, that letters and emails do have an impact.  This seems especially true when a constituent of that particular Representative and/or Senator is making a request.  Very simply, even in our day of cynicism and political wrangling, most members of Congress understand that helping a constituent often leads to votes.  In other words, our system can and does still work.

So, let me encourage you to please do more than hit the “like” button on Facebook, or even re-posting about his and his family’s plight.  Take about 10-15 minutes and go to the link on this blog about contacting Congress.  You can do it right now from your own computer by simply following the instructions at this link.  “Remember those in prison as if you were their fellow prisoners, and those who are mistreated as if you yourselves were suffering.”  (Hebrews 13:3)

I know if it were me, I’d want as many people shouting out for me as possible.

Thanks for your concern and share this others.  stg.

One thought on “Why writing your Representative and Senator can make a difference for Makset

  1. Ken W. Smith says:

    I have sent a letter to my congressman. If anyone wants a sample of the letter I sent in support of Makset, drop a line to kenwsmith54 (at) gmail (dot) com. You can find the address of your senators and representative at http://whoismyrepresentative.com .

Leave a comment